!!
You Are Reading...
RTOR

30 New Turns Before I Turn 30

I was born on the 18th day of January, 82 and I was a day pre-mature baby girl. And just because I was supposed to be born on the 19th Jan instead of 18th, my Father always remembered the Estimated Date of Delivery as my birthday all through my growing up years. Please, imagine how many times I had to correct him and he actually filled in the EDD date on my school application forms too! Parents I tell you. If this was not enough, the city (Rourkela) I was born in decided to have curfew imposed, I don’t know for what reason on the very day I was born. So my Dad got my Mom admitted in the Hospital a day early, because of the curfew, and I decided to see the light of the world a day early and my rest of the family was blissfully unaware of my birth, till my Father decided to check in on my Mom after the curfew was lift up and was surprised by ME! Since that day I was named “Curfewwali” by my Grand – dad.

Come 2012 it’s going to be a milestone birthday. On the 18th day of Jan, 12 I will turn “30”. So what does it mean to me? While I’m inching towards my milestone birthday, I get to take the time to look at a new vision for my 30s. I have stopped trying to find myself and started creating myself. I have great experiences from my past and so now I get to add new ones!

A major birthday like 30 means better presents! (To all my friends who are reading this ;P) If I have learned nothing else from Desperate Housewives, 40 is the new 30 and 30 is the new 20 (I actually had this iced on my Brother-in-law’s birthday cake who turned 31 recently.) People naturally take you more seriously when you are in your 30s.You get to smile when people can not believe you are 30. Instead of stressing about acne, I can stress about wrinkles and white hair. When I was younger 30 was OLD, now I feel 30 is young. I maybe turning 30 but I will still always be the youngest in my family. Turning 30 makes you appreciate your 20’s and look forward to your 40s. Like the Christina Aguilera song it “Keeps getting Better“.

So why am I ranting and raving about my coming of age, which has still 6 more months to go. Yes, only six more months! And it occurred to be while I was wining and dining with my hubby dearest. I thought what should I do to remember my turning 30th in a special way? I quickly took stock in trade of my life’s past experiences and concluded what better way to learn new things, push my boundaries to achieve them and set new standards and respect for oneself. Hence I have decided to embrace 30 new lessons of life before I turn 30 and that starts from today and this post will be updated every time I succeed with a new attempt.

So Here I Go –

  1. Turning To Organic Food–  I have turned completely organic and have resolved to have diets free of food grown with pesticides, hormones, antibiotics or genetic engineering. As an informed personal and an eco – friendly person this is a very important “TURN” towards being healthy and well nourished. I also give towards protecting the future generations, saving energy, preventing soil erosion, protecting our water supply, protecting farm workers and supporting local economy.
2. Turning To Be More Active Socially – I remember the good old days, when I used to get back from school and would immediately get on the phone and keep chatting with my friends for hours. My parents could never digest the fact that after spending good 5 hours together in school I still would find things to talk and discuss endlessly. I too miss those days 😦 . With passage to time and re-locating to many cities I too lost in touch with few good friends who still mean a lot to me. With the invent of social media it is possible to “creep” in their lives, but I still can’t wipe tears of my Mom’s face when we “Skype” or give a tight hug to a friend who’s upset of the fact that she can’t have kids on the phone. I have realized the importance of reaching out to people. And I am going to do that more actively this decade.
3. Turning To Be Off Gadgets and Internet – One day the Hubz returned from work and found that the TV in the living room screamed off  “Star Plus”, the one in the bedroom had “Netflix” running, the desktop in our study had “Pandora” on and I was with my smartphone checking FB & Twitter updates. That was it. We decided to do away with the Dish Network, No cellphones allowed when we are sleeping and when at home we are allowed to have two hours of internet access. Trust me, life  has been so good after that and its been three weeks and our “quality time” with each other has improved considerably.
4. Turning To Meditation – Now with most of the vices in my life gone and having more productive time at hand I turned to join a Mediation Group near my place. I have a great teacher and amazing group mates. The only problem I “doze” off to sleep as it is so divinely relaxing rather focusing within me. There are also few great android and i-pad apps which one can download for free and can try doing it at home, office, any where (but not when driving) to counter attack stress, anxiety and overactive nervous system.
5. Turning To Art & Craft – To be honest I have never done any art & craft in my life. The ones that were mandatory in school my mom would step up and take charge. Though I have always admired the artistic qualities in people who turn out beautiful handmade cards, quilts, dresses, mittens, sweaters etc, I never dared to venture on that path. I can start small. I though of making something handmade f or everyone’s birthday. Be it a small card but the personal touch would add a smile on my folks face which cannot be replaced by the expensive gifts ordered to be sent from the internet.
6. Turning to Take A Vow Of Silence – This is more out of spiritual practice. A still tongue can teach me self restrain, discipline, focus and a check on the unguarded speech. Though the Hubz would be the happiest on those days 🙂

About ANK

Cultivating the art of ‘intelligent’ listening, sifting the grain from the chaff, counseling, negotiating and writing/drafting is what I do for a living. Sharing a smile, standing up for loved ones, fighting for the right cause and living life to the fullest is what I'm doing this LIFE!.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “30 New Turns Before I Turn 30

  1. Honest, blunt and so intrinsic. I could relate to it so well, turning thirty indeed feels like a turning point or something like a milestone!!! Loved this 🙂

    Posted by Shilpa Arora Sharma @ Wordpress | September 9, 2012, 11:04 AM
  2. I liked the article.
    I liked the conclusions you made about 30.
    I am happy reading at 20, you find 30 old and at 30 you find young.
    I liked you telling at 30 you care about wrinkles and grey hair instead of pimples.
    A thoughtful article.
    May I suggest to read my article on life at 60?

    Posted by Bharatchandra M Desai | July 23, 2011, 6:15 PM
  3. Hi,
    I can relate to this whole idea of leaving things and pursuing things. I am pushing 40.

    Oh My GOD! I think I will drop off abruptly I just realized the import of the previous sentence.

    But be happy, You are not 40 yet:)

    Posted by Sairam | June 30, 2011, 9:37 AM
    • Sairam,

      Each turn and decade of life has its own value and experience. I have cherished my teens and my twenties and look forward to the thirties, forties, fifties and sixties(i assume i’ll live that long). Thank you for reading my post and writing to me. Do keep coming here.

      Posted by ANK | June 30, 2011, 5:20 PM
  4. Turning 30! Wish life will have some more great things in store for you. Frankly speaking, 30 sounds a bit older for me. But may be as I grow and reach 30, even I may feel young as you said 🙂 Would love to read your next lesson too.

    Good luck!

    Posted by Harsha | June 24, 2011, 8:29 AM
    • Thanks Harsha. I remember when I was in my mid-twenties, I thought I was so silly during my teens. I think thats how this whole life series is you just keep evolving with time and age. Age has got nothing to do with how young you feel.

      Cheers
      Annu.

      Posted by ANK | June 24, 2011, 10:45 AM
  5. A woman peaks up in her 30’s and is at her beautiful best. So it’s time to preen and enjoy all the attention that comes your way. And believe me it will only get better :))

    Posted by Purbaray | June 21, 2011, 9:40 PM

Leave a Reply

Visitors

  • 6,928 visits

Member Blogadda

What Would You Find Here?

I Feel

My Unkymood Punkymood (Unkymoods)
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
